(x+2)(x+3)/(x-2) >= 0 are less than 5?

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:3 members

(x+2)(x+3)/(x-2) >= 0 are less than 5?

by rsarashi » Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:10 am
How many of the integers that satisfy the inequality (x+2)(x+3)/(x-2) >= 0 are less than 5?

A. 1
B. 2
C. 3
D. 4
E. 5

OAD

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1906 members
GMAT Score:790

by GMATGuruNY » Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:12 am
Private tutor exclusively for the GMAT and GRE, with over 20 years of experience.
Followed here and elsewhere by over 1900 test-takers.
I have worked with students based in the US, Australia, Taiwan, China, Tajikistan, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia -- a long list of countries.
My students have been admitted to HBS, CBS, Tuck, Yale, Stern, Fuqua -- a long list of top programs.

As a tutor, I don't simply teach you how I would approach problems.
I unlock the best way for YOU to solve problems.

For more information, please email me (Mitch Hunt) at [email protected].
Student Review #1
Student Review #2
Student Review #3

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Fri Apr 14, 2017 4:34 pm
Hi rsarashi,

While this question looks a bit complex, it's not as difficult as it might appear. This question emphasizes a particular part of the process that is so important for GMAT questions of all types: you have to take notes and do work in an organized way.

In this prompt, we're asked to focus on integer solutions that are LESS than 5. From the answers, we know that there is at least one solution, but no more than five solutions. This means that there aren't that many options and they shouldn't be too hard to find.