Woohoo.. 630.. despite guessing on about 20 Quant questions

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
GMAT Score:630
Hi, I am a long time listener and caller. Got back from the test today.. 630 overall (40Q 36V). I took the exam in late Sept but cancelled my score. For the 2nd round, I studied less.... WAAAAAYY less (about 1 hour a day.. sometimes I wouldn't practice for days). Heck, I didn't even touch quant in the past month except for 1 retake of the GMATprep last Monday. I concentrated on verbal since I knew it was my ticket to getting above 600. I received a 36 on V which is better than any other score on any of my practice CATs (I got a 39 on KAplan, but that was a retake of the diagnostic).

I tried to do a warmup before the exam (3 of each questions, SC, DS, PS,etc) but got 3 of 3 wrong for PS and ended up not doing any more practice Qs. I have also been busy with life, traveling, work, etc in the past month so I came into the exam ready to fail (Also, I was "connecting" with an attractive girl in the waiting area before the exam so my mind was on something else :o ).