Which Section is Typically Easier to Improve?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hey Everyone,

I'm just wondering which section (verbal or quant) is typically easier to improve with studying?

I started by GMAT studying about two weeks ago. I bought the OG guide and the Kaplan study guide. I'm going through the Kaplan book right now. I'm in my mid 20s and I graduated with a BSc in geology a couple years ago. I work in the mining industry and I'd like to persue an MBA after I complete the requirements for registration as a professional geologist. That will take me another two or three years.

Before I did any studying at all, I did the Kaplan practice test and got every question except for one correct in the verbal section and I got everything wrong except for a few in the quant section! My scores for the two sections were pretty much opposite. I was fairly surprised at how well I did on the verbal section. I never figured that it would be my strong point. Because of this, I will focus less on strategies on the verbal section and focus mostly on doing practice problems to see if I continue to get them correct.

In the quant section, I was completely thrown off by the data sufficiency questions and my math needed a big refresher. I used to be really strong at math in highschool and first year calculus in university. My degree program didn't require anything else so I stopped there. As a result, I haven't solved many math problems in over 4 years. I've been going through the math review section in the Kaplan book and I'm getting most of the questions correct.

Anyways, I'm just wondering which section is typically easier to improve upon?

Thanks,

Cole

Legendary Member
Followed by:34 members
GMAT Score:720

by vineeshp » Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:22 am
That is a very tough question.