Which recommendations to get and which round to apply

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi,

1. I am thinking of applying to Harvard, Stanford, Wharton, Chicago, maybe Kellogg. I think I can get my act together and apply to one first round and the others second round. Does anyone have advice for how to approach this - i.e. HBS is my top choice, so I assume best to apply second when I have had some experience/practice/more time on my essays. Or should I just apply to all second round? I have written drafts of my essays but they're not very good..I need to ask for recommendations very soon (hoping within a week) if I apply for any first round.

2. How many schools does a typical applicant apply to?

3. I am thinking of asking for the following recommendations. Does anyone have advice?
Harvard: three recommendations, two professional
Stanford: three recommendations, two professional (one current), one peer
Wharton: two, preferably from supervisors
Chicago: two, at least one from supervisor
Kellogg: two, at least one current

I am thinking of asking:
1. EITHER: A past supervisor who is an "executive director" level in finance at a bulge bracket, who I think really liked me, served as a mentor and can probably give a good recommendation, though I get the feeling he wants me to stay within the firm so not sure how that will impact it. He was Penn undergrad and did not attend Business School
VS
A past supervisor who is an "Associate" level in finance at the same company, so less senior as the Executive Director. He also really liked me and we had a great working relationship. However, he is less senior.
------> Which would you suggest? I think either one would write a great recommendation, but the associate is a lot more dependable (I know i can be 100% frank with him), however, the executive director is two ranks senior