Well Defined Strategy, Endless hours of Preparation: 650-760

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
I will start with a brief introduction. I graduated from IIT Kanpur in 2009, having done my undergrad and masters in Mathematics and Computing. Post that I have been working with various financial services companies in various analytics roles.

My first GMAT preparation lasted about 3 months. I took an exam date for 23rd Mar'13 and started my preparations in Dec '12. I asked my friend, who had scored a 750 to help me out, and he said it's a pretty simple exam. He will send over some material and with the Manhattan GMAT test series it should be a simple affair.
Well I took my first GMAC official test in Jan, a week after starting my preparations. - Scored a 630 (Q48, V26). A little disappointed, I started with the Manhattan books. In my opinion, The Manhattan SC book is the best of the series (of Manhattan Verbal books.) The basics of grammar are all mentioned. What's not mentioned is the approach. And as I later realized the approach is what creates the difference. GMAT does not want us to become a grammarian but it wants us to be able to frame concise sentences, which are clear in meaning and expression. Well I will talk more about it later.

First Attempt

For SC, I followed the process of splits, as professed by Manhattan tutorials. Well the process works for many but unfortunately did not work for me. I would get 50-60% of the questions correct. The accuracy would drop further while tackling the more difficult questions - OG Q Nos. 100+ . Well I tried everything but could not get the accuracy any higher. Defeated, I started to concentrate on CR.