Unique

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Unique

by ShaneK » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:34 am
I apologize for the length, but I felt it appropriate. My target school is Tuck (Early Action).

I grew up in a single parent household in Philadelphia and attended three high schools. The first was closed after a riot during my freshman year. The second had metal detectors and x-ray machines for our bags. The third, and final, was a small private school- I worked as a janitor after hours in lieu of tuition.

My peers had no aspiration. Of my mother's twelve brothers and sisters, three graduated high school. Given my environment, college was never on my radar. One day, I had a revelation, and decided to take my SAT's.

I did well enough without study to get into the common Philadelphia schools, but ultimately decided to chose a lesser ranked University that I had visited last-minute on the recommendation of a mentor. This was a pivotal moment in my life.

I chose Eastern University for what would seem an odd reason to most. When I visited, I felt extremely out of place. Think Beverly Hillbillies, except Suburban City Boy. Having been a boy scout, the "camp" feeling was familiar to me. That is how I felt every single day. I knew, though, that removing myself from the urban environment would be key.

Uprooting myself was a painful experience. I did not fit in. I was extremely bored, and it was difficult to relate to my new surroundings. I had set my sights on a goal however, and my emotional reactions were not going to stop me; I was going to better position myself to take care of my mother and sister, and it did not matter how painful of an experience that meant enduring.