Two months plan

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Two months plan

by brunoselva » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:16 pm
Hey guys,

I started studying for GMAT 10 days ago and I think my plan is not good enough. It's my first post in the forum and I'll try to give an overview of my situation and my concerns.

First GMATPrep Exam: 580 Q42 V28
Goal 700+

For each topic my strategy is:
- Watch Skillbuilder lessons from Veritas
- Follow Manhattan Gmat strategy guide and solve its problems
- Practice with questions from MGMAT or GMATPrep.

Today I completed the plan for Sentence Correction, the topic that I am most worried. I studied 25 hours and I don't think I am already prepared for it. I also think I can't go through all topics in two months, my initial goal.

Is this strategy seems ok? What should I do to get better results from the hours I am studying? What is more important, reading the concepts and watching videos or practicing and studying the answers?

Have anyone bought MGMAT and GMATPrep questions? Which one would you recommend?

Thank you

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:14 pm
Hi brunoselva,

Since you've only been studying for 10 days, there's not enough evidence to say whether your plan is "working" or not. While most people need 3 months (or more) of consistent study to hit their peak, some people can do it in less time than that. I suggest that you continue studying as you've planned for the rest of this week and then take another practice CAT. After reviewing those results, you'll have a better sense of whether you're improving or if you're still mentally "stuck" doing things the way that you did them on your first practice CAT. THEN you can re-evaluate your plan.