Too late to change "specializations" on submitted

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:690
I submitted my part-time app to a top part-time program in May and I will hear a decision regardless by end of this month. As I browse the online forums, the school is starting to send out admittance notices.

I came to realization that as I was filling out the 3 optional specializations, I probably over-thought the logics behind it. I am an engineer and for my short-term goal, I put down using mba training to become a project/program manager and for long-term goal, I wanted to get in a management position to lead/over-see R&D team either positioned in the far-east or having a heavy presence there.

I picked data/models/decisions, strategy, and leadership/change management. My reasoning was that these specialization would ultimately get me into my long-term goal.

But now as days go by, I started to think my specialization should have been supply chain/global sourcing, Entrepreneurial/innovation, and possibly product management (entrepreneurialship because I would look into growing/starting/managing a division).

Is it too late at this point to write a letter to the adcom and explain my "error" and wrong thought process in choosing the specializations? I will probably get rejected anyway, in that case I simply won't attend any MBA this year and will regroup/reapply in 2 years (I am 32 already).

Any help would be appreciated....

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:68 members
GMAT Score:750

by Bryant@VeritasPrep » Wed Jul 15, 2009 6:07 pm