Third time's the charm, 590 -> 640 -> 730

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Third time's the charm, 590 -> 640 -> 730

by mccollud » Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:29 pm
Took the GMAT for the third time last Monday and got a 730 (46Q, 45V). My first attempt back in the spring was a 590 (39 Q, 33 V). Took it for the second time in September and got a 640 (43Q, 35V).

My first attempt was very rushed and only consisted of a disorganized 3-week study period. I studied 2 hours a day for 3 months prior to my second attempt and was getting 700 and above on every practice test. For whatever reason, I just didn't do as good as i thought i would on my second attempt. I planned my third attempt to take place 6 weeks after my second attempt. I lightly studied during this 6 week period, and mostly focused on verbal. I think a major difference between my second attempt and my third attempt is that I scheduled my third attempt for 1:00 PM instead of 8:00 AM. I took the entire day off from work that Monday, slept in, ate lunch, and took the exam.

To prepare, I bought just about every GMAT book I could get my hands on. I bought the entire MGMAT series, OG 12, GMAT 800, a couple of Princeton Review books, and the $80 subscription to the GMAT Club tests.

The OG 12 and MGMAT books were very helpful. Of the MGMAT series, the Sentence Correction and Number Properties books were the best. Princeton Review was terrible, the SC in GMAT 800 were good but the rest was crap. The GMAT Club tests were hard, but not very representative of the real test, and the answer explanations were weak.