Study Approach

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Study Approach

by B2MANLEY » Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:43 am
All,

I am fairly new to the forum and have found the topics extremely helpful in my preparation. I have one question related to my prep approach. I have the following materials which I feel are enough to get me where I need to be - [1] PR Cracking the GMAT (2009 Version) [2] OG GMAT Review (Version 11) and [3] Cliffs Math Review for Standardized Tests.

I am very strong in the verbal arena. I lack a little in the quantitative area, hence the math review book (which is great BTW). The program I am applying to places more weight on GPA than anything else, including GMAT scores. I met with my advisor and she basically told me that based on my GPA all I needed to do was meet the minimum score requirement for the College of Business at this school and I was in. I graduated with a BS in MIS with a 3.9 GPA. I was told I only needed to get a 450 on the GMAT to get in, so needless to say I don't want to overstudy.

My question is this...understanding I only need a 450 - 500 score, how should I approach my prep. I have started by reviewing the quantiative sections of PR, and supplementing with the Math review for a more deep dive. However, I feel like I am focusing on nothing but math and somewhat ignoring the verbal since it comes later in the book. How did you guys appraoch this? Did you mix the two at the same time, or start with weaker areas and move into areas where you were stronger? Just curious how others approached this.

I appreciate any advice. I plan to sit for the exam on 8/18.

Thanks!!!

by kirube » Thu Jul 03, 2008 5:08 am
Hi,

I would suggest you walk through the introductory part of the Quans in OG. It will give you a clear picture of the concept that will be tested on the GMAT.

All the best for your prepz

Legendary Member
Followed by:1 members

which school?

by aj5105 » Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:43 am
@ B2MANLEY ,