Strategy for Verbal

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Strategy for Verbal

by jaiswalamrita » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:17 am
I'm doing good in quant, ranging from Q47 to Q49 in GMAT prep and other mock tests (looking at my non maths background, - I studied maths till 10th and never studied probability and combinotrics concepts - I dont see myself scoring a perfect Q51).

But I'm confused regarding Verbal scores. In available mock tests namely Kaplan, Manhattan, GMAT club and Princeton, I'm scoring V35 and above (maximum V41 in Princeton) but in GMAT prep in all 4 tests (with IR and without IR) I could score V20 or so. Does GMAT has higher level of Verbal problems than all other mock tests available in market?
My weak area is RC, I take lot of time solving it. As a strategy I try to finish SC soon (within 1 min) so that I'm left with some more time to solve RC and this strategy works in all mock tests. But it does not work in GMAT prep with me. I found that I take around 1 min 50 sec or maybe more time solving GMAT prep SC questions and hence not left with sufficient time to solve RC.

Can experts help me what could be the reason? Please throw some light on this? Am I going to face same problem in actual GMAT?

Legendary Member
Followed by:26 members
GMAT Score:680

by sam2304 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:05 pm
jaiswalamrita wrote:I'm doing good in quant, ranging from Q47 to Q49 in GMAT prep and other mock tests (looking at my non maths background, - I studied maths till 10th and never studied probability and combinotrics concepts - I dont see myself scoring a perfect Q51).

But I'm confused regarding Verbal scores. In available mock tests namely Kaplan, Manhattan, GMAT club and Princeton, I'm scoring V35 and above (maximum V41 in Princeton) but in GMAT prep in all 4 tests (with IR and without IR) I could score V20 or so. Does GMAT has higher level of Verbal problems than all other mock tests available in market?