so much bad in verbal-please tell me the definite strategy

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
I have been preparing for GMAT from 3-4 months. But I cannot score above 580. Quant-42-45 and verbal-18-21. I just cannot understand critical reasoning. I am pretty well in SC. I take so much time for RC. I solved official guide-13, official guide for verbal. Please help me with the definite strategy to follow with the books to solve and any other sources for the same.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:365 members

by VivianKerr » Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:47 pm
For CR, I'd suggest at working through something like Powerscore CR, or if you really want to raise the bar, something like LSAT Examcrackers CR (although not all these Q-types are also on the GMAT). What you really need to do is 1) refine your strategy for HOW you're approaching CR (your methodical, step-by-step approach utilizing your scratch pad for maximum benefit) and 2) re-familiarize yourself with the most-common logical fallacies.

For the latter, I'd really take a look at causation/correlation. In statistics, let's say we have data from two variables: x and y. They have a direct relationship. As one increases, the other increases. This could lead scientists to draw a conclusion that one variable causes the change in the other variable. But this isn't necessary true! In fact, some third variable may be affecting both x and y! In order to prove causation and validate that one variable is indeed directly influencing the other and is the reason behind the detected correlation, further studies would need to be conducted, altering parameters, and recording outcomes.
The "Secret": Just because X and Y are connected, doesn't mean X causes Y. Let's take a look at a GMAT question: