should i go for another retake?

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

should i go for another retake?

by vertigo05 » Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:03 pm
hi,
I am an indian male. I am a engineer. 1st time I took gmat in october last year and I scored 560. This time i was not well prepared. I studied hard for the retake. I used to get gmat prep and powerprep practice test scores in the range of 650 to 720. I was confident about getting a good score this time. Unfortunately I got a rediculous 500(Q 40, V19)last week. I could not believe on my score. The test was not so bad. I just cant beieve, i got such a low score.
I dont want to give up now because of my practice test scores. but yesterday I read on manhattan gmat site that most of the bschools consider the best gmat score and taking the test up to 4 times has no detrimental effect. but they also take a look at the gmat history. Will taking gmat again and getting a good score with a bad gmat history ruin my chances of getting into good bschools? My target b schools are UBC sauder, univ of pitts. katz bschool, HKUST, NUS etc.
Is it worth taking the test again? I hv a work ex. of 4 yrs in a top automobile company. I am in a big dilemma. any suggestion?

Legendary Member
GMAT Score:680

by tohellandback » Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:02 am
vertigo,
I suggest you ask the question in the ask experts forum. They know better than anyone else.
Thanks
The powers of two are bloody impolite!!

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:690

by sidtiwari » Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:04 am
go for it but keep some important things in mind....
Do not take the test again till you are ready for it.... I tool the gmat on June 3rd and got 690...... now i have decided to hit back at it .......
so i have joined gmat prep classes and i am planning to give myself another 8-10 weeks before i retake it......