Seek advice on my GMAT prep

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

Seek advice on my GMAT prep

by abhi75 » Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:52 am
Hello Everyone,

I have been a visitor of this forum for sometime now and am seeking advice on my gmat prep. Plus I am a big fan of MGMAT.

I started my GMAT journey last September. I work in Engg. in embedded s/w. Initially I tend to look to take GMAT very lightly thinking that I will be able to score atleast 650 with 2 to 3 months of study and from the experiences of my friends. But that wasnt the case with me and I learnt the hard way.

My first attempt with GMAT was in Oct 2006 and I got a shocking score of 440 (Q 35 V 17). I was probably expecting in the range of 500 to 520. I studied on and off after that and appeared for the test in last week of Sep with the score of 550 (Q40 V 26). I had improved but the score was not good enough for my target schools.

My study pattern so far has also not been consistent and although I appeared for my 2nd GMAT attempt after 1 year, the actual preparation might be about 3 to 4 months. Now in retrospect I felt that I should have worked a lot harder. But at times it was hard with my work schedule, and family. I thought I worked as much as I could but in the end it was not good enough. :(

I would really appreciate some advice on my study plans and approach for GMAT. Sorry this is a long post as this is debrief of my 1 year prep so far.

My preparations for 2nd time:

I think I have covered all the recommended material for GMAT.
I solved Kaplan Math Workbook (only once) and then went on to solving OG 11th Edition. I really stuggled with my Advance Quant questions and my verbal skills were horrible. I had maintained error logs as recommended by other members and identified my weak areas in Verbal and Quant.

I had problems with Tough Word Problems, advance Combinatorics, probability, Inequalites, Co-ordinate geometry and number properties.