Regd: MBA Guidance

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Regd: MBA Guidance

by prathimaprasunrao » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:20 pm
Hi Stacy and BeatTheGMAT community,

My name is Prathima. I recently graduated from the University of Memphis. My major is Computer Science. I have the desire to do my MBA from a good "B- School" once I have 2-3 years of work experience. I just wanted to know how my major coupled with MBA program or MBA with specific concentration would be advantagoeus to me regarding job prospects.
Could you please let me know the solutions to the following queries?
1)The requirements I need to fulfill in order to join B-School.By reading the threads, I could understand that a GMAT score of 690+ is required and a work experience of minimum 3 years are required to get into B-school.
2)What would be the duration of the application to be processed?
3) How much TOEFL score is required?
4) What disciplines in combination with Computer Science will fetch me good job in future?
5) How about the chances of getting assisstantships as the fees for each university appears as a big number to me?Are there any criteria to be satisfied for obtaing the assisstantships?
6) Could you please let me know where can I find the information about the different disciplines in MBA(eg Finance, Entrepreneurship, Finance etc)and the future prospects about them?
7) I could find only some schools offering Part-Time MBA. Could you please let me know the difference between the Part-Time and Full Time Program? Will the type of MBA program effect my job prospects?

Waiting for reply!
Regards,
PrathimaPrasunRao
[email protected]

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:113 members

by Stacy Blackman » Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:28 pm
Hi Prathima,
Here are my answers: