Re-Taking the GMAT - How Many Times is Too Many?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:730
Hi,

I need your opinion on whether I should re-take the GMAT?

I took the GMAT for the 3rd time yesterday and was quite disappointed...

GMAT 1st Attempt (June 26th, 2010) - 650 (Q42, V37)
GMAT 2nd Attempt (Sept 25th, 2010) - 590 (Q39, V33)
GMAT 3rd Attempt (March 26th, 2011) - 600 (Q39, V33)

I started studying for the GMAT around a year ago and got a decent score with my 1st attempt at the exam.

I did not feel 100% during my 2nd and last attempt of the exam - I was sleep-deprived and extremely distracted from having to work on a work project all weekend and leading upto to the exam. And, during my last attempt, I did not feel well and had a very bad headache during the test that wouldn't go away. I had expected to at least exceed 650 during my latest attempt my practice results were consistently above it.

I am trying to decide whether I should take the exam one last time as I believe the conditions I took the exam during my last 2 attempts did not give me a good opportunity to perform. However, how would the Top 25 Business Schools view that?

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:52 members
GMAT Score:760

by rishi raj » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:13 pm