Questions about application.

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Questions about application.

by eric68508 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 3:52 pm
Hi, I am working on my application now and I have some questions about how to write the essay and application form.

1)I have found that the word limit of optional essay is usually around 250 only. But I have lots of things need to explain,

i) I have a master degree in a university of US ranked in around 80, and my GPA is 3.61. However, my undergraduate GPA in Hong Kong is 2.35 only.

ii)I just have 2 year work experience but the average of my target universities are 4-6 years.

iii)I quit my professional job half year before I study in USA. And I worked as a swimming coach in this period of time.

iv)I was not admitted by the master degree directly, I have study as undergraduate student for 1 semester in that university before start my master program.

2) If the essay question asks me to identify the courses I have taken or intend to take to demonstrate quantitative proficiency. What kinds of class should I include?

i) I took some class with a title like "Calculus I", "Calculus II" and "Applied Statistic" in undergraduate college, but my grades ranged from D to B only..Should I mention about them? It seems that the questions have not asked me to identify my grade.

ii) I am studying in a master of actuarial science now, and I get several A+ and A with 2 'B' grades from the class with title like "LIFE CONTINGENCIES" and "INTRO RISK THEORY ". Although they do not look like a mathematics class, they include lots of math. Also, is it that B is considered as a bad grade in USA and I should omit them too?