Profile Review Please

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Review Please

by shwetamukesh » Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:36 am
Hello,

I graduated from UC San Diego in June 2011. I majored in Economics and International Studies with a 3.55 GPA. I graduated one year early and won all the major department and university awards at the time of my graduation.

I had decided in sophomore year of college that I needed more clarity in regards to career. I knew I wanted to eventually work in development or start ups in the social sector (I loved business). Therefore, during my 3 years at UCSD I explored different avenues that had powerful impacts on society- law, think tanks, politics, media, corporates, and NGOs. I had interned at an immigration law firm, headed a research project funded by the Gates Foundation, was on the executive board of a journal and grew its presence to 163 countries, helped produce a TV show for NDTV (one of India's largest networks), worked on environmental rehabilitation in Belize etc. Yet, I was still not sure what I wanted to do.
As a result, I wanted to step out of the comfort of the academic bubble and start working.

I turned down jobs at BCG, Morgan Stanley, etc. and moved to India. I spent a month talking to people in every industry and reflecting on my strengths, interests, and skills. I realized that I loved consulting and start up work culture. In October 2011, I joined a company called Policy Innovations. I currently work there as a Principal Consultant. I am managing three projects: John Hopkins University, the government of Assam, and Seasame. I have also been working extensively with data analysis, strategy development, operations, client management, marketing, and people management (one of the projects I am managing involves coordinating with over 40 surveyors and 4,000 children).