Profile Evaluation, thx.

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation, thx.

by Orangeman » Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:04 pm
Hi, there. I want my profile to be evaluated before I send out my applications.

Syracuse University
Finance and Marketing majors
Graduate in May, 2009
GPA(Overall): 3.4/4.0
Finance:3.4
Marketing: 3.4

GMAT:
Q: 42 (63%)
V: 27(43%)
Total: 570
Writing: 4.5/6

Program I am applying: MS in Finance
School List: Johns Hopkins, Princeton, GWU, Fordham and Syracuse

I am an international student from Taiwan and I have already taken my GMAT twice. The results came out to be the same. I figured that taking it again wouldn't really change anything since deadlines for those school are Dec. 1.
I have no full-time working experiences, all I had done are interns for a Venture Capital and an accounting firm back home.

Achievements: 4 straight semesters Dean's List
Extracurricular: Investment club, tutor

I wonder if I should change my school list or what not since my GMAT is nowhere close to the 600 mark. Any way for me to make it to my dream school w/o retakingthe GMAT?

Thanks.

Charles W.

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:52 pm
Dear Charles,

It is hard to say what your chances are for these MS Finance programs. Candidates for MS programs are evaluated a little differently than for MBA programs. Likewise, many schools do not publish class statistics for MS programs like they do for MBA programs. I do agree that it is not worth taking your GMAT for a third time and better to channel your energy into your applications. Present the strongest package possible and let the chips fall where they may.

Good luck,
Lisa
Lisa Anderson
Consultant
Stacy Blackman Consulting

Learn more about me

Legendary Member
GMAT Score:640

by AleksandrM » Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:52 am
Hey orange,