Possibility of me getting into MBA program with these scores

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
So, I took the GMAT and I just received my scores. I got a 35/75% Verbal 31/25% Quantitative which is a 550 then I got 6.0/91% AWA and a 7/82% Integrated reasoning.

I want to get into Auburn's distance MBA program and in particular concentrate in Supply Chain Management. Their students typically score 550-600 in the distance MBA program. I know that my quantitative really brought my score down but do you think the high scores in every section will help me get in? Do most programs focus more on the Quantitative section of the test?

Some other background info my Undergraduate GPA 3.2 and I have 3 years of experience as an Active Duty Army Logistics officer with experience overseas.

I guess I am just worried that my quant score is going to screw me out of getting into the school, what is yall's typical experience?

Followed by:3 members

by bnutz79 » Sat Sep 07, 2013 8:00 am
First, have you only taken the GMAT once? If so, study more and take it again.

Second, why do you want to do the online program? Is it because you're still on active duty. There's nothing wrong with online programs, so long as that route aligns with your goals. With that said, there are far better online programs than Auburn that you could get into.

Last, don't sell yourself short. Programs love veterans. What's more, and this will seem counter-intuitive, programs love logistics and transportation officers. Why do they love them? It's because those skills are more transferable to the business world.

So, stop doubting yourself and stop being lazy. Study for the GMAT. Score near 650 or higher. Apply to at least three top 20 program. Because with the right application execution and a good interview, you WILL get into a top 20 full-time program!

by roofjp1 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:18 am