Please advise

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Please advise

by Vikram2010 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:23 pm
I am an Indian IT Male with a very diverse work Experience.
I work as a Senior Manager, with multifaceted exposure at various levels.

Work Ex: 10 Years in a Tech Company in US
of which 6 Years are in Big 5 Consulting experience.
Education Level: Masters with 3.11 GPA (10 yrs ago)
Good Extra Curriculars: Leadership in sports, organized events, Tied up with a charitable institution. Started Educational and fitness group activities, Mentored multiple individuals, Volunteer activities.

Now the sad part:
GMAT: 560, AWA: 5.5, V: 50%ile, Q: 73%ile
This is by far the lowest I got. Never scored below 650 in my mock tests including GMATPrep.

Being a bit realistic, I am interested in :
Kenan-Flaglar (Exec)
Texas McCombs (Exec/Part Time)
Cox SMU (Part Time)

Any chance I can make it to any of these with my existing GMAT score ?

I have some keen deliverables work wise which is delaying my next GMAT attempt, hopefully I will do it before the end of Nov 09.

Please advise and pour in your thoughts.
Appreciate your help.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by AppReview » Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:50 am
Hi,

You have a whole lot of work experience behind you to give it up for a 530 GMAT. I personally don't know why you want to just go ahead with a 530 GMAT score as such? And if you're not planning on doing that why not aim for a top 15 Program like Cornell or Yale? You have everything on your side - Good work ex., a little low but still decent GPA. All in all my advice is work extremely hard for your GMAT. In case you are able to pull a score above 700, the adcoms will take a lot of interest in your abilities given your age and the jump you would have taken.