Part-time MBA programs in California

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Part-time MBA programs in California

by rohit.bizschool » Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:08 pm
Hello!

I'm considering applying to *part-time* programs (Fall 2013). I took the GMAT a couple months ago and scored 700.
I'm a software professional with 5 years of experience. Post-MBA, I intend to continue working in tech.
My options after graduation:
- Advance into Executive Management and lead teams.
- Product Management (tech)
- Business Development (tech)

I live & work in SF/Bay Area and was considering UC Berkeley(Haas), UCLA (Anderson), USC (Marshall) and Santa Clara University(Leavey)

Haas is my first choice. I understand that it's very competitive to get in.

I'm not sure if it's worth travelling to LA on weekends(for UCLA/USC) or just enroll at local Santa Clara (Leavey) if I get in. I understand the benefits of going to a good school like UCLA (networking, education, brand name, global recognition, etc.).
I'm asking because I don't plan to do a career shift (e.g. finance, consulting, etc.) I know Product Managers and General Managers in my company who have graduated from Leavey and they seem to be doing well (obviously, can't generalize). My concern is that Leavey is ranked very low. In fact, this year, it slipped to #41. Does anyone know why it plummeted? What is the Leavey's reputation among technology companies in the Silicon Valley?

Your thoughts?

Thanks,
Rohit

Followed by:2 members

by steiny » Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:55 am
Rohit,

I can't really comment on Leavey, but I believe that UCLA only offers a EMBA on weekends and USC requires weekday classes for part, if not all of the MBA program.

Brian

by rohit.bizschool » Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:49 pm
Thanks Brian!

I wasn't aware of USC's weekday classes.

I see that you've been accepted by Booth. Congrats!