Part Time MBA - dilemma on school selection

Talk to current MBA students about life in MBA programs (not for app advice/discussion)
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Part Time MBA - dilemma on school selection

by kobelco » Thu May 09, 2013 7:17 am
Background: I work in the IT field, with 10 years of experience. Live in the Twin Cities metro area. Want a MBA degree to either advance in the IT vertical or open new avenues in other areas such as finance. Not exactly sure on the direction after the MBA.

Dilemma: I've narrowed down the options to these two: University of St. Thomas-Opus School and University of Minnesota-Carlson School. Carlson has better ranking (some rankings say it is #14 on the Part Time MBA program list in US), while it is around $20K more than Opus.

Need advice on: Is the 20 grand worth the brand recognition? What are the chances that I will be seeing a significant increase in salary after MBA to compensate for the 20 more grand (compared to Opus) spent at Carlson?

Thanks in advance to anyone who responds!

Legendary Member
Followed by:85 members

by essaysnark » Mon May 13, 2013 6:10 am
Hi kobelco - Welcome to Beat the GMAT!