Overwhelmed

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Overwhelmed

by brood1989 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:37 pm
Hello all,

I've completed my quantitative studies and met my goal score in tests. However,
my verbal score is very low and is because of SC. I've just started MGMAT SC, and
after reading chapters 2 and 3 I have become overwhelmed with all of the rules
that I really never thought about. Has anyone else felt this way about SC? I'm
going to keep trying my best and I'm confident I can improve my pathetic 25 in V.
(2/15 on SC questions).

Followed by:7 members
GMAT Score:750

by havok » Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:25 pm
Hey,

I'm studying the same book that you are studying. I'd definitely agree that it is not very easy to get through. I read the book as though it were full of guidelines. I skim through the chapters: slowing down on parts I haven't seen before, speeding up when I know the topic, and I read carefully through the practice problems.

That's about all the tips I have, I'm halfway finished with the book - SC is also the bane of my GMAT score (missed 10 on my last practice!)

by brood1989 » Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:51 pm
I'm really having trouble with the basics. I read the chapter and do the problems
at the end and do my best. However, after reading the solutions I feel like I'm
still missing something. It's a shame because my accuracy on CR / RC questions are
outstanding, and my quantitative score is at my goal. I'm working hard on SC but these
concepts are for the most part completely new to me, despite me being a native English
speaker.

Followed by:7 members
GMAT Score:750

by havok » Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 pm
Do you finish exams with extra time? I average finishing the verbal section with 15 minutes to go, I found that when I read through the question and give myself more time to think about it, my accuracy goes up a lot higher.

by brood1989 » Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:47 pm