One week countdown and score is getting worse

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:700

One week countdown and score is getting worse

by kap » Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:00 pm
I've been studying for over three months now and was aiming for a 700, though at this point I'm not sure I'm capable of that and would settle for a high 600. I took a practice test mid February to gauge my progress and scored a 660 on the GMAT prep software, that was my first real test ever. Then I took a MGMAT and got a 580 after bombing a math section and not getting to the last 10 questions. I took a Kaplan and scored a 660 at the end of February. Then I went on vacation for a week in march and took another Kaplan when I came back and scored a 630 (I adjust that to a 660 though because the timer got jammed and ate up all my time on the verbal, which is where my score decreased and likely would've been a 660 again had that not happened).

I just took a practice test one week from my actual test date. I scored a 600 on the GMAT prep #2 test. I was devastated. Should I postpone my test to study more?

Legendary Member
Followed by:34 members
GMAT Score:720

by vineeshp » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:29 pm
That really depends on what you can achieve by postponing. Do you have additional material to prepare? Also, what are the materials that you have been using so far?

Can you also analyze your tests? Are you consistently having issues with the same sub topic ? If yes, then you should try and prep more.

If you see that you are just screwing up easy questions cos with careless mistakes, then it is just a matter of holding your nerve. Just keep faith in yourself and give the test. I have always found differences in my home preps and the actual GMAT I took. A matter of nerves. :(

But if you think by postponing will help you prepare some specific topics, I say Better late for a good score than never.

All the best! You can do it!
Vineesh,