Older Applicant: Which Schools are Simply OUT?: Expert Reply

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members
Hello there,

First of all, I want to say that I appreciate any feedback on this post.

Secondly, I want to add that I am currently in the process of studying for my GMAT. So, that presents a problem.

I recently spoke with an admissions consultant who told me that some schools simply do not accept students that are above their average (in respect to age).

I am 30 years old, with a different type of work background. I currently work for the Navy, but I have had some wide and varied experience. I would like to effectively tell my story with my essays, but this is where I am currently at an impasse.

I am very interested in CA based schools (UCLA, Berkeley) and foreign schools: ESADE, IESE, LBS, and HEC Paris. My job has a heavy international focus, so I felt these schools would find that appealing.

My question is this: Could you take a month and write essays? I want to focus all energies on my GMAT studies, but I do want good essays. I tutored English writing in college, and I do have a proficiency with essays. However, I definitely do not want to put myself at an impasse.

ALSO - does anyone know of a good admissions consultant? I am searching for a competent, polite, and friendly professional that will motivate (not DEMOTIVATE) me during this process.

Thank you!

-A

by ReachingHigher » Thu Oct 14, 2010 7:34 am
If someone could respond to this, it would be great!

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by southbaynic » Thu Oct 14, 2010 9:13 am