New to this

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

New to this

by jymalchi » Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:21 am
To Whom it May Concern:
I am just starting to think about an MBA and trying to figure out the best path for me. I had an inspiring discussion with an EMBA student from Kellogg on the plane the other day that really got me interested in a program like that. I am a bit confused where I fit in and what I would need to make sure I put myself in the best position when I finally apply. I went to undergrad at Union College in Schenectady, NY and graduated in 2003 with a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering (GPA 3.6). I went on to graduate school and received my Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering in 2007 from Penn State University (GPA 3.9). After my Ph.D. I decided to go into industry and got a job at an aerospace consulting firm working with rocket engines on the technical staff. I have been doing that for 2 years now. I like the technical side, but I am also very interested in the business and management side. I have always been told that I have a more outgoing personality than the "typical" person with a Ph.D. in Engineering and that I am really good at working with people. I think an MBA will be an excellent compliment to my technical background.