Never Give Up! 580 to 710

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Never Give Up! 580 to 710

by Mdterrapin1 » Tue Aug 16, 2016 1:08 pm
My GMAT journey like many other's was a unique one. For some personal context, I graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering from a top 50 ranked public university, and have not always been the strongest test taker. A few years after graduating and working full-time I decided to get my PE or professional engineering license. For an engineer to obtain a professional license he or she must pass an 8hr exam among other requirements. After a few months of intensive studying I was thrilled to find out that I had passed the exam! The confidence and motivation of passing the PE exam led me to look onto another goal of mine which was to attend a top MBA program, and I quickly realized that I would have to get a score of at least of 700 on the GMAT exam.
Like most GMAT stories you will find, I grossly underestimated the time, energy and focus it would take to obtain my goal of breaking 700. I initially took the self-study approach by using the GMAC Official Guide (OG), and incorrectly measured my progress by simply the number of hours I was throwing at my studying. What a waste of time! My first wake-up call came after I received a 580 (Q41/V28) on the official exam. I immediately knew that I had to drastically change the way I viewed the exam, and also that I needed to sign up for a GMAT review course.