Need Inspiration to Study While Working 8-5pm

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need Inspiration to Study While Working 8-5pm

by achala » Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:18 pm
Hi everyone,

I'm studying for the GMAT and realized I needed a little external motivation. Hoping this forum can help me out.

My Story
I took the GMAT for the first time back in 2013 and got a 530 (32Q 30V). I had taken a Princeton Review class at work but towards the last month of studying I completely lost all motivation because I was so stressed out at work. It was also my first year out of college so I didn't really know how to balance both. I ended up slacking after getting a few ~640s on practice tests and was really disappointed in myself.

I finally got the courage to study again and started to review my old materials mid-Jan. I've scheduled my test for the first week of May (~2 months left) and I'm getting nervous that I'm not putting enough time in. I'm having a hard time staying focused after an entire's day work.

I'm using the Magoosh 3 month study plan and the MGMAT practice tests which I really like. In my most recent practice test I scored a 570 (36Q 30V), which made me realize that I hadn't improved AT ALL in verbal. It looks like my biggest weakness is Sentence Correction.

Any tips on how to incorporate studying into your work week and staying focused? Would also love any tips on how to improve on Sent. Correction.

My goal is a 680+ and I think I can achieve it.

Thanks!
Achala

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:03 pm
Hi achala,

Many Test Takers have full-time jobs and busy lives, so you're not alone in the things that you're facing. Since many people do their best/clearest thinking earlier in the day, you might find it beneficial to go to bed a little earlier and wake up a little earlier - so that you can study for an hour or so BEFORE you go to work.