Need Help on the Verbal Section (V24 --> V40+ ??)

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi All,

I took my GMAT last week and was devasted because of my Verbal Score. I had taken a two 2-3 month leave from work and was dedicated in my preparation...(I started aiming for a 700+). Now that I have messed up my GMAT, I request all to help me strategies, specifically for RC and CR. I plan to retake the exam within a month as I want to apply for the first round.

Following are the details of how I studied for my GMAT

Books-

All 8 MGMAT Guides (basically for all the content building, especially Quant and SC)
The Official Guide (12th Edition)
The Official Guide - Verbal Review
The Official Guide - Quantitative Review
Kaplan 800 (i.e GMAT Advanced) .. but couldn't complete the entire book
Powerscore CR Bible (found this book very helpful..but just don't know what went wrong on the D-day)

(Made notes whenever I studied, noted my mistakes in a separate book and reviewed them on and off if not on a regular basis, and read good English stuff almost everyday)

Tests-

Before taking the full length tests, completed all the Kaplan Sectional Tests

1. MGMAT1 - 640 (Q47 V31)
2. MGMAT2 - 600 (Q43 V30)
3. MGMAT3 - 600 (Q43 V30)
4. MGMAT4 - 670 (Q45 V36)
5. MGMAT5 - 660 (Q46 V34)
6. Princeton Review1 - 610 (Q44 V30)
7. Princeton Review2 - 640 (Q48 V31)
8. MGMAT6 - 650 (Q46 V33)

*First 5 tests were taken with essays

GMAT Prep results too in the same range..(looking at my practice test scores I thought I would manage to get at least a 700)

Actual Exam - 600 (Q48 V24) :cry:

The quant scaled score is fairly constant. Assuming that I will not let that score go down, the onus lies on the verbal section alone to improve the overall score. I am still targeting a score of 700+. I am planning to retake the GMAT within a month. Is a month sufficient to reach my target score?