Need Advice. 680

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Need Advice. 680

by djkvakin » Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:14 pm
So I took GMAT again today and got 680(V40 Q43). My last attempt 2 months ago was 670. In between I studied sentence correction from MGMAT, Kaplan 800, questions on this forum, and took 3 additional MGMAT CATs and 2 practice test from GMAC. In my MGMATS I scored 700 in all 3, and for GMAT practice tests I scored 730 and 740 in the week prior to the test. I only saw 2-3 repeat questions from the previous 2 attempts prior to my first test, and therefore was really confident in my ability to score over 700 on the real test.
I already applied to Darden for 2010, and had my interview, and now I am just waiting for the decision on March, 26th.
Given my practice scores, should I retake it again? I need a higher score because the internships I plan to apply for (granted I get in) require scores above 700. A score above 700 will also help me compete for scholarships, and possibly improve my chances if I get waitlisted.
Now should I take a mental break for a week, and take the test again in a month? I just want to try to avoid becoming a designated GMAT test taker, and hope to one day put this behind me...
Any advice is appreciated.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by vivecan2005 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:33 pm