My GMAT Experience: 740 (Q47 V44)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

My GMAT Experience: 740 (Q47 V44)

by BeaverTerror » Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:24 pm
I just got back from taking my GMAT. While I've never posted in these forums before, I found many answers here during my review period and I want to give something back to the forums by noting some observations.

I am a architecture undergrad senior from a top tier Canadian university. I was born in China but have been living in English speaking countries since I was 7. About five months ago I decided that I would get an MBA instead of an MArch after my BArch. This decision reflected a shift in my interest from the architect's perspective to the developer's perspective, and was fueled by the fact that architects receive pathetic pay.

I began reviewing two weeks before my exam. In retrospect, this was an extremely short amount of time to prepare for the GMAT. I have no excuse for my procrastination and am very relieved that I nevertheless managed to get a good score. This was no doubt made possible by the fact that I'm still in school, and by the consisteny between architectural education and the material covered on the GMAT (though less so for the math). Additionally, I had just completed an elective course on logic, so was very prepared for some of the verbal questions.

The material I used to prepare consisted of:
1. Princeton Review book (2010)
2. GMAT Official Guide (12th Ed)
3. GMATprep (2005 and 2006 versions)

I started my review by reading through the Princeton book. This took a week of my two week review period. This book is utterly useless for anyone aiming for a 700+ score. It is designed for people who have no basic knowledge of math and limited knowledge of English, and would, at most, get you to 600 if you relied on it alone.