MSRE/MRED vs MBA Real Estate Concentration

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hey everyone,

After hours upon hours of research and mixed reviews I was able to put together what I believe is the consensus and wanted to get some opinions on the subject. My career path is to become a commercial real estate developer/investor and am looking for the best path in order to accomplish that goal, whether it be a top MBA program or a MSRE/MRED.

I'm 23 years old and graduated Dec. 2013 with a major in finance from the University of Central Florida. GPA is 3.4 and my GMAT score was a disappointing 570. I have been working with my Dad for 6 months who is a commercial real estate developer/investor for his own company. I also already have my RE license and have taken one (1) and plan on taking my second Certified Commercial Investment Member (CCIM) course in the approaching couple months, which is the premier designation within the commercial real estate field.

From what I've been reading i heard that you should try and get into the absolute best MBA program you can (top 25/50; regardless if they have a RE concentration) or one of the top tier MSRE/MRED programs if the top MBA isn't achievable. The top tier MSRE/MRED programs from my research are (in no specific order) MIT, USC, Cornell, Columbia and NYU (IF ANY OTHERS PLEASE ADD).

Long story short I'm seeking for advice on which path to take between the MBA and MSRE/MRED. I'm coming to the realization that due to my lack of experience I'm going to have to retake the GMAT which I'm confident I can score atleast a 620 and probably higher than that.

THANKS!

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by stevied479 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:26 pm
Hey Man,