Med student applying to MBA - really need advice

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I'm currently a first year medical student at a well ranked medical school in the US (a non-ivy private school). My undergraduate was at UC San Diego, and I graduated with a 3.45 GPA and a Biology major + English minor.

My work experience: 2 years as a part time swim instructor in college (not very relevant I don't think) + 1 year managing a small drug addiction clinic (6 beds) that just opened, so I helped streamline operations and get it on its feet from a middle-manager type position (more relevant). After that, I went to medical school so my work experience is quite light.

Volunteer experience.
1.5 yrs being a program developer at a large hospital internship of about 400-500 people (trained people, worked with hospital leadership to make program better. etc). I was deeply involved in this and had a good impact on the program.
1 yr peer health educator. I taught college students about GMAT and health and held outreaches and workshops.

Now, I won't be applying to B-school until my 3rd year of med school (I will be taking a break between years 3 and 4 to do B-school). That gives me time to think about how to craft myself as an applicant.

What I have going for me right at this moment:
  • President of the student council - got some great things going, successful fundraisers, upcoming initiatives, etc.
  • Currently part of a special program where we work with PhD engineering students and learn to find a medical need, prototype a solution, pitch to investors, and bring it to market. I'm expecting that by the end of 3 years, we should have something substantial to show for it (at the very least a patent if not commercialization). This is going well so far.
What I'm planning to do in the near future: