Manhattan GMAT vs. OG 10

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
GMAT Score:720

Manhattan GMAT vs. OG 10

by mjjking » Sun Nov 02, 2008 4:07 am
Hi guys,
I have a question and I'd like your opinion.

Last year I took the GMAT and I scored 680, with a 40 on the verbal part.
I remember taking 6 Manhattan GMAT practice tests, and scoring between 34-36 all the times. I was frustrated because I couldn't get past it!

Then, I took GMATPrep and I scored 42, and then I scored 40 on the real test!

Then again, I'm studying to improve my gmat score, and I scored 36 on the verbal part AGAIN!

I bought the OG10, and I did the last 25 questions of SC, scoring 24/25 right. Then I took Manhattan GMAT SC 25 questions bank, and I only scored 16!

My view is that their questions, also at 500-600 level, are more difficult than real questions, and that their structure is basically different for the one of the real test. What are your thoughts about it?

thanks!
Beat The GMAT - 1st priority
Enter a top MBA program - 2nd priority
Loving my wife: MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL!

REAL THING 1 (AUG 2007): 680 (Q43, V40)
REAL THING 2 (APR 2009): 720 (Q47, V41)

by mjjking » Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:54 am
Hello? Does anybody have an answer? Why did I score lower on ManhattanGmat verbal than I did in the real test and GMATPrep??
Beat The GMAT - 1st priority
Enter a top MBA program - 2nd priority
Loving my wife: MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL!

REAL THING 1 (AUG 2007): 680 (Q43, V40)
REAL THING 2 (APR 2009): 720 (Q47, V41)

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by revoltangel » Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:11 pm
I don't have an answer but I took a sample Manhattan test and felt the same way. Certain questions were in a format that I haven't seen anywhere else, and certain quant questions were extremely hard / time consuming.

If anyone who has done Manhattan could share how closely Manhattan questions are to the real test that would be very helpful!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts