Looking for a little advice, maybe words of encouragement

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi everyone,

I've lurked on here for quite awhile, and I started studying 6 weeks ago (about to start week 7) following the Magoosh 6 Month-GMAT study guide.

I'm an engineer, but (as funny as this is) I'm not very good at math (though I believe I'm capable, just not experienced yet) because I spent 4 years in the military right out of high school and had taken the easiest math courses in high school. I barely made it through the calculus series without doing much homework, but I did poorly because I was unfamiliar with trigonometry and the majority of the many algebra rules (the ones tested on the GMAT). I did well in engineering courses and computer science courses because the concepts are tested, not necessarily mathematics.

So my first practice test, I scored a 500. I was a little dismayed, but ultimately wasn't very discouraged. I know my second test I'll do better and it was without any studying and I was kind of distracted as well.

But I'm feeling discouraged about my performance on the quantitative section in general from the test questions I've been taking. Through both Magoosh and the 2015 OG Quantitative Review I'm missing a lot of questions. The Magoosh adaptive questions are generally medium-hard (maybe a very hard once in awhile, mostly medium right now), and I'm missing probably 50-60% of the OG2015 Quant Questions. Funny enough, the verbal for me is pretty intuitive and I think I'd do well without studying too much so I'm not worried about it.