Just started to study for the GMAT and Im so discouraged.

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Yeah. Im not sure if I can do this. I dont think I'll have too much trouble with the verbal sections of the GMAT, but anything in the quantitative section? forget it! I havent had a math class in 7 years and even when I did, I struggled through them.

Is there any hope? I'm taking a 'intensive study' prep course through UCLA and I have a prep book, but the teacher will assign us the math problems he says are pertinent and I just stare at them for minutes on end trying to figure out strategies to solve them. This is to the point where I feel retarded. :( Even on the SAT, I did much better on the verbal, than I did on the math section :( :(

I dont even know where to start with my studies. Is there hope?

Has anyone felt the same way?

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by kmull » Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:17 am
I just started studying too. I am finding it extremely helpful to just review all of the different rules in the math sections. I haven't taken a practice exam yet, just trying to master the rules.

Is there something in particular you struggle with? You could focus on those areas with flashcards (either download the ones here, or make your own).
Taking GMAT Fall 2007
Applying for Fall 2008 MBA (Duke, Vandy, UNC)

Community Manager
Followed by:2 members

Wondering, too

by GCHall840 » Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:09 pm
I am taking the Manhattan GMAT virtual online course at the present time.