Just about 50 days until GMAT

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Just about 50 days until GMAT

by ITman10 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:50 am
Hello to all!

I see that everyone is very helpful and gives good insight.

I plan on taking the exam in January. It was pushed back because I felt I was not ready to take it. The "safety" school that I am applying to only asks for a reported score, no guidelines or minimum score. Just a score to see applicants took the exam. However, they say a 450-500 is what they look for; but it is not written on paper as a requirement. My intention was to "wing it" so to speak, and just take the GMAT to get into this school.

I studied inconsistently for the past 2 weeks (1 hr max for maybe 1-2 nights a week). After doing this I took several practice exams to gauge myself so I can adjust my studying accordingly. I knew I was not going to score well, but figured it can't be too horrendous since my math skills are fair and I comprehend what I read fairly well. However, I cringed when I saw my scores for the practice CATs, knowing I have some grounds to gain.

Here are my results (Remember: I pretty much took these cold. All 3 taken within a 1 week span):
Veritas CAT: 480 -- Q23:V30 (had 6min left to answer 13 questions in Quant)
MGMAT CAT : 460 -- Q29:V26 (rushed #'s 27-33 then blindly guessed #'s 34-37 to finish Quant on time)
Princeton : 460 -- Q32:V22
GMAT Prep : 460 -- Q33:V20 (Q:did well to start but took too much time and had to rush #'s 22-37...yes, that many questions!)
Kaplan CAT : 500 -- Q35:V24

It seems like I always gasp for air and time in Quant. In verbal, every test I had plenty of time left over (even though I did poorly). Also, after reviewing my answers, I found that I was very, very "streaky" when it came to getting questions right and wrong. For ex: I'd get 4-Correct then get 4-Wrong, then get 7-Correct and get 5-Wrong right after that --- this applies to both Quant and Verbal. Though, it is a CAT.