Journalism Grad Vying for Top B-School, Please Advise

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
As a recent grad with a non traditional major do I have a shot at top B-Schools? I'm afraid that because I don't have a quant background and my GPA was only a 3.3 that as an early career applicant, getting into a top b-school would be next to impossible.

Here are my stats:

Female, first generation American, Haitian descent

Undergrad: Howard U
Major: Journalism, Spanish (minor)
GPA: 3.3/Cum Laude

Few quant courses undergrad and I was a B student in the ones I did take :( (Economics, Algebra, Applied Topics in Math)

Awards/Honors: I was on full tuition scholarship and I received another large scholarship for excellence in journalism. I also have received a handful of awards for journalism/multimedia convergence and one for entrepreneurship.

Work Exp: I have completed 14 internships/fellowships at mostly top companies (InStyle, New York Times, Cosmopolitan) and freelanced while undergrad. I also worked part-time for a big name in entertainment for two years in a pr/mrktg function with a focus in programming and event planning--the position was part of a one-year program but I was asked to return for a second year after being the first to break membership goals since the program's inception. In the position I managed six campus reps.

Extra Currics: I started an online magazine my sophomore year which doubled as an unofficial training program for students interested in new media and magazine journalism and served on the e-board for a few orgs.

Community Involvement: I did two alternative spring break programs in New Orleans and spent a summer volunteering at a media org for at-risk youth but other than that my service has been less formal/event based--walk-a-thons, Thanksgiving meal prep, mentor programs, etc.