I NEED to succeed!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

I NEED to succeed!

by movinonup » Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:32 pm
Well hello there....

Last month I took the GMAT and to my dismay, I was only able to must up a dull 500 (32Q, 27V). The reason I am so upset with this score (i know it's really low) is because I am graduating next year and in order for my company to pay for me to get my MBA (AT A REALLY GOOD SCHOOL!) I only have to get a 560. The thing that I'm upset about is that I have been studying on and off since last May and the month before I took it, I studied more consistently.

My practice tests were in the mid 500's but I had never gotten a score this low. I am really starting to get nervous because I only have one more time to take the test, and if I don't get my score then I can say bye bye to a free education at a REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY GOOD business school.

The thing that messed me up was my timing. After taking 3 or 4 practice tests, I felt comfortable about my pace, but when I got in the test I sort of froze up and spent way too much time on some quant questions. And on verbal I thought I did better than a 27 because I feel that I have pretty good grasp on SC and RC (still struggling with CR).

I took a few weeks off, but now I'm starting back up, and looking to take the test around thanksgiving. I know this is crunching it, but I need to have my score in by December 1st. I've done the all of the OGs and don't know what else to do. MGMAT practice tests? Any programs? Any help would be appreciated.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by ogbeni » Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:14 pm
movinonup,

Do you want to move on up in life or do you want to whine? :)

After reading this post, go look your self in the mirror and tell yourself "YES I CAN". You can do it.