I need some serious expert advice....

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

I need some serious expert advice....

by kriti87 » Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:16 am
Hi,
I gave the GMAT today and I got a score of 600 ( Quant : 47, Verbal : 26). I am deeply disappointed. I am a working professional and I have 1 year and 5 months of work experience in IT consulting. I had planned on applying for Fall 2012.

My doubt is that should I retake the exam in October and then take TOEFL? or should I go ahead and take the TOEFL? Is it worth applying to universities in the US and Singapore with this score? Or should I improve the score and then apply. As of now, no dates in September are available.

Please help.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

by akhilsuhag » Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:31 am
Hi Kriti,

I am no expert but still this is what I think.

1. I don't understand why are you tying the TOEFL with the GMAT. Go ahead give the TOEFL (if you have already booked a date) and put it aside so that you can focus on GMAT and the rest next.

2. Now look at what are your target universities, that determines how good your current GMAT score is.

3. If you are targeting anything in the top 25-30 then retake. I say this for the following reasons:

(a) A one year work-ex doesn't add a whole lot to the resume. I have spent one year in Infosys so I know how one year goes. This means you will have to make the rest of your application strong, which makes GMAT a whole lot more important for you.

(b) The Indian IT profile is the most received profile in B-Schools today. Although you are a female so that might turn the screws slightly in your favor but still it is commonly said that Indian IT people need a little high score to get the required attention.