I just took the GMAT - Q 42 V Not so great Please Help!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
So, I studied mad hours to do well on the math portion because being a history major I knew that was my weakness. I started out with scores under 30 in the math portion and I managed to score a 42 on the real GMAT.

To my surprise I completely bombed the verbal - I got a 25.

Thus my totals were

Q 42
V 25
Total 560

The sad thing is I got a 640 and a 660 on the last 2 GmatPrep CATs that I took.

I think it might have been my nerves, but I also know I probably was not half as prepared for the verbal as I was for the math portion.

What do you suggest? I take the GMAT again in one month.

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by ladistar » Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:09 pm
Unless you're absolutely positive that your verbal was just a one-time statistical anomaly that deviated way from your normal mean, you should probably be focusing on that section moreso than anything else.

42 Q is passable, but a 25 V needs a lot of work if you're consistently scoring in that range. You're a history major, so I'm sure that you were counting on Verbal to be your crutch. Make that your top priority for the time being till you start hitting 35+ then move onto Quant.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:24 members
GMAT Score:750

by TedCornell » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:09 am
Congratulations on raising your quant by so much!! I agree with ladistar. You should definitely shore up your verbal.

Being a history major may have prepared you for reading comp or even critical reasoning, but probably not for GMAT sentence correction.

For my verbal prep I used ManhattanGMAT Sentence Correction guide, The Official Guide, and gmatfix verbal flashcards.

1) If you don't already have it, consider getting the ManhattanGMAT SC guide and go through its lessons.