I beat the GMAT - 760 (Q49 V44)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

I beat the GMAT - 760 (Q49 V44)

by KG521 » Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:44 am
I discovered this site about a month or so before I took the actual GMAT. The posts have been very helpful in focusing my studying and learning from other people's experiences, so I wanted to share my own in the hopes that I could help other people out as well. I'll try to give a timeline for my studying efforts and my strategy as I went along.

Overall, I studied from about February through May (4 months). I signed up for a Manhattan GMAT class, which went from late January through late March. I feel like the class was very helpful from the perspective of getting me used to the GMAT format and offering tips and strategies for addressing each of the problem types. That being said, I know it is expensive and not everyone can afford it, so at the very least I recommend purchasing all the MGMAT books. I basically spent the first 2 months of my study time going over those books in detail and trying to get all the concepts down pat. I can't emphasize enough how helpful these books were.

After I was confident that I had the concepts down pat, I went back through the MGMAT books and did all of the problems they offer at the end of each section. While these are not in GMAT format, they are very helpful for reinforcing the concepts and skills so that they become second nature. I decided to take an MGMAT practice exam at this point and scored a 650. It was in the range that I was okay with, but I really struggled with the quant.