How personal can you be in your motivation essay?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I am now starting to write my motivation essay and to update my resume for my interview.

And I am slightly confused about how to justify my former academic background. I had some hiccups there, which are actually very personal and I don t want to seem whining or emotionally blackmailing the interview committee.

My background :
I was a brilliant student at high school, and opted to go to a business school after I graduated. Unfortunately, during the summer before I entered university, I was the victim of a rape and murder attempt, which happened on the campus of the university I was going to join.

When the term started, 2 months later, I was a nervous wreck, suffering from post-traumatic disorder. And I just could not cope with the requirements of academic life : being on my own, in a very competitive faculty... I just could not do it.
My exam results this winter were abysmal (which was a hard blow to me, I had never failed at anything at school before), I dropped.

The next year, I resumed my studies in History. Not that I wanted to become a History teacher, but it was a passion of mine when I was younger and my parents recommended me to use this advantage to get a degree. Even that was very tough.

Especially the final paper (150 pages, personal work). I could pass all the exams of my 4 years program, cramming it short term. But the long term and autonomous effort required to write this paper was still beyond my reach. I even left university to go to work, with all my exams passed (with very average scores), but without a degree because I still hadn t written this paper.

One year after, I enrolled again at university, while working full time, just to submit my paper and get my degree. My paper was not good but I got the degree and moved on with my professional career and my life.