How important is last drawn salary?

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

How important is last drawn salary?

by nitinmjh » Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:00 pm
Hi guys

I am an engineer from India and aspiring to do a 12-16 months MBA from a decent, if not top, b-school. I have a GMAT score of 640 and total experience of around 6.5 years, of which last three are as a proprietor of a small trading firm which I started in 2007. However things have not turned out well and am hardly able to recover costs.

This is where my confusion arises. Since I am not earning anything, will it cause some problem in securing me a job post MBA? After spending $40-45K, I would like to get a suitable job to recover my costs. Thus I am wondering how important the last drawn salary is perceived to be. If indeed it will bother me, what would you suggest me to do?

Thanks

NMJ

Followed by:1 members

by ezhilkumarank » Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:44 pm
Although I am not the expert here but still couldn't resist my urge to respond. Anyway, I believe the last drawn salary is not of much (if not 'any') importance. Although one is building on his/her pre-MBA experience by pursuing a M.B.A course, after graduating it is a whole new ball game.

Your salary are no longer bound or bucket-ized based on your last drawn salary (based on your pre-MBA skills). Don't forget that you are going to have a good leap in your understanding of business concepts and hence would be a better qualified individual.

Focus on your applications and showing a unique, holistic view of yourself to the admission committee and enjoy your B-school experience.

Good luck and best wishes for your next steps.
"The will-to-do achieves the deed, when the mind that wills is strong indeed"

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:760

by Ttronn » Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:50 am