Got a 650 on GMAT but have strong, creative work experience

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I am wondering if someone could shed some light on my chances of getting into a top 20 or top 30 MBA program.

I'm 38 and have enthusiastically decided to earn an MBA after putting it off for years to pursue what has been a somewhat successful career in the entertainment industry as an independent film producer and writer. I graduated from Tufts University and earned a 3.21 GPA (3.46 for my last two years) with a major in history and scored a 650 (46 quant/34 verbal) on my GMAT (took it a 2nd time and scored a 610 under the duress of a freshly strained back - hate using that excuse but it seems relevant). Also, I feel I am a strong writer and am confident that my essay will be well received.

That being said -- What are your thoughts of my chance for getting into schools such as: 1) U of Texas - Austin, 2) Indiana University, 3) USC, 4) U of North Carolina, 5) U of Virginia, 6) Georgetown and 7) Emory; and are there any others I should be considering? - should I be aiming lower? I want to focus primarily on marketing but also focus on fiance and entrepreneurship.

And do you have any thoughts on whether the 2nd GMAT I took and got a 610 on will hurt my chances? I really hope not.

Thanks for any feedback. It's greatly appreciated.

Legendary Member
Followed by:47 members

by komal » Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:04 am
hi maxwellmick

Following is in response to your query: "And do you have any thoughts on whether the 2nd GMAT I took and got a 610 on will hurt my chances? I really hope not."

First off, B-schools don't frown on repeat test-takers. In other words, you won't be penalized merely because you've repeated the test. Secondly it depends on the school, they might average or take the latest one, but most likely they take the highest of gmat you scored in last 5 years.