Got 710, quant 50 verbal 35, PAYBACK!!!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:710

Got 710, quant 50 verbal 35, PAYBACK!!!

by amitojha07 » Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:35 am
Hello People,

10th of september 2008 I wrote my GMAT at Kolkata India. I secured 710 (more than what I expected). Wanted to write this for sometime did not get time so PAYBACK time guys!

Starting with who I am???

I am someone, Software Test Engineer with a big IT company. My age is 24 years and my heighest education is B.E. I have more than two years of experience in software testing.
I want to do an MBA but never knew what to do and where to start, have appeared in CAT a couple of times but lack of preparation has always let me down. I guess I am not the person who can sit and prepare for an exam. With time running against me and admission to a good Grad school getting tougher by the day, I had only one option: GMAT. Working in IT sector in India means you spend 12 hours a day in the office (mostly chatting and lazing around) and with me not happy with sitting at home and studying, office seems a good timepass. and one day suddenly god know what prompted me, and I registered for GMAT (3 August 2008). I had been doing a bit of disclosed paper tests from ETS since January and analyzing my mistakes (around 15-20 questions per week). Thinking that I had to give GMAT some day.
The very instant I confirmed my registration a chill ran down my spine. I realized that I was in deep shit and had wasted my hard earned $250. Sitting like a studious kid I chalked out my plan on using next 27+10 days = 37 days to crack GMAT and get 780 ;).
At this instant all books I knew was - GMAT official Guide (and I did not want to waste money on this)