GMAT Strategy Preparation

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GMAT Strategy Preparation

by caroleta » Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:52 am
Hello Stacey,

Thank you for answering my PM and for helping me to build a new strategy in order to improve my score. It's been almost a month since I explained my situation to you, so here the highlights:

I've been studying for almost 10 months and I am having serious problems to improve my score. I've done the GMAT twice. The first time I did the GMAT I didn't have enough preparation and I really push it too much thinking I was going to do well in a "simple" test by just doing some problems. Very stubborn of my part.
In order to do the test again, I prepared myself very well during the last winter, studying by myself and with a friend who is very good in math (my main issue at that time).

On my second GMAT I got 490. On the practice tests I was scoring between 580-650 and I did all the exercises from the OG 10th and 12th Edition getting 80% on everything, so of course I was very disappointed with the 490. This score difference between my practice tests and my real GMAT makes me think that I already have the knowledge in my head, so maybe the strategy of doing and doing exercises from my books is not working anymore.

One of your advices is to take a MGMAT practice test under full official conditions (including the essays), and then analyze my results using this article. https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/2009/09/ ... tice-tests