GMAT beat me - not sure how?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GMAT beat me - not sure how?

by Langdon Alger » Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:18 am
Hi everyone,

I'm a 24 year old Canadian, with 3 years of management experience and a degree from the University of Western Ontario. I'm looking at getting in and starting MBA programs for fall 2013. I started studying for the GMAT in July and wrote for the first time in November. I scored a 430. Pretty brutal, but I thought it was just a bad day and moved on from it and booked a re-test for Dec 27 (yesterday).

Over the next 6 weeks I amped up the studying and was doing well enough. I did the practice tests from the GMAC website and scored 560 on one and 590 on the other. For the schools I'm looking at going to in Canada (Ryerson, Ottawa, Dalhousie) a score of 550-600 would make me competitive enough to have a shot at getting in so I was happy with these practices and ready to take the test.

I went in yesterday and scored a 410! I didn't feel nervous or stressed and I have no idea what happened. I know there might be a bit of a drop from practice tests, but to drop that much? I'm honestly at a loss and not sure why there is such a huge gap from my prep and my actual scores. Does anyone have any insight or suggestions? It's getting a bit late to apply now as I'm sure first round spots are starting to get filled and I'm not sure how to get my actual scores up to 550-600?

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by Langdon Alger » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:29 am
Any thoughts? I'd really appreciate it if anyone had some advice or possible reasons for such a huge gap between my prep and actual results. I'll probably write it 1 more time at the end of Jan and would appreciate any tips on what to do over the next few weeks to make sure I'm on track. Thanks!