GMAT 620/V 42 Q 33 My experience! /Your advice?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello to all,
I am a newbie here.Thought it might help others to learn from my experience.
I took my GMAT on the 16th Nov at Mumbai Pearson Centre.I had prepared well with my mocks with the GMAC Powerprep software.Was consistently getting in the 710- 730 range.As I was made to believe by umpteen posts on the net ,I was overconfident about cracking the GMAT with a 700+.
For the AWA I prepared only 10 days back and practiced a few AOA & AOI
initially untimed to get a hang of analysing the topics .Later I did a few practice AOA and AOI but did not post anywhere online for comments.
However I memorised the Template from one of the sites and went ahead.Also made a list of common 'transition words' and qualifiers.Also made it a point to include one semi-colon, 1 apostrophe, 1 exclamation,1 hiphen and one question mark.Also tried to vary sentence length a bit and use a bit of strong vocabulary.

Fortunately on D-day I got 1 revised topic for AOA and other one was quite straightforward for AOI.I think I did the essays well , though I am keeping my fingers crossed.I used only 2 major points for the AOI and ensured that the counter-argument and rebuttal were included in the same para of contention.

For the quants section,I got a bouncer of a openingquestion , in the sense that it was my weak topic ( Inequalities).I settled down to the rhythm after an initial shaky start.At the end of the section , I felt pretty confident of the attempt.The trick I used for time management was to note down the time limit for every 5 ques on the scrap book and refer to it whenever I felt like ,to be in control.